> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://f4n6.co.uk/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Apple pointer auth bypass CVE-2024-27834 added to CISA KEV
- URL: https://f4n6.co.uk/security-feed/apple-pointer-auth-bypass-cve-2024-27834-added-to-cisa-kev/
- Published: 2026-11-04T21:49:43.000Z
- Updated: 2026-11-04T21:49:43.000Z
- Author: Jeff Davies
- Tags: #security-feed, CVE-2024-27834

## 1\. Executive summary

CVE-2024-27834, an improper authentication flaw in Apple iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS and watchOS 10.5, has been added to the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog with a remediation due date of 2026-11-18\. NVD scores it CVSS 5.5 MEDIUM (CWE-287, Improper Authentication); it is not a critical-severity issue by score, but CISA KEV status means it is being exploited in the wild. The flaw lets an attacker who already holds arbitrary read and write capability bypass pointer authentication, so it is a post-compromise primitive rather than a remote entry point. For EMEA financial services the exposure is Apple endpoints and servers in scope for managed device fleets, and the practical deadline is the 2026-11-18 KEV due date, not the CVSS number.

## 2\. Regulatory framing

No specific DORA/NIS2 article is directly engaged by this item.

## 3\. Technical analysis & attack chain

The vulnerability is an improper authentication weakness (CWE-287 per NVD) in Apple iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS and watchOS 10.5\. The NVD description states it could allow an attacker with arbitrary read and write capability to bypass pointer authentication. Pointer authentication is the ARM hardware feature that signs pointers so a corrupted or forged pointer fails a signature check before use; bypassing it removes a control that normally frustrates control-flow hijacking and exploitation of memory-corruption bugs. The precondition matters: the attacker must already have arbitrary read and write capability, which means this is not described as a remote, unauthenticated entry vector.

Confirmed steps, as far as public reporting supports them:

1. An attacker obtains arbitrary read and write capability on a vulnerable Apple device. How that capability is obtained is not stated in public reporting for this CVE.
2. With that capability present, the attacker bypasses pointer authentication on a system running an affected version (iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS or watchOS 10.5).

That is the extent of the confirmed chain. Initial access vector, the specific component or binary affected, the exact affected and fixed version numbers beyond the "10.5" reference, persistence, privilege escalation beyond the pointer-auth bypass, command-and-control, lateral movement and data access are not stated in public reporting. CISA records known ransomware campaign use as Unknown.

CISA KEV status establishes that the flaw is exploited in the wild; the KEV entry does not name the exploiting actor, the victims, or the campaign. No attribution is available. The NVD entry does not name a fixed release, and no Apple security bulletin covering this CVE is present in the material reviewed, so no patched version can be cited here.

The related Apple items in circulation describe different vulnerabilities and do not contribute facts to this one: CVE-2026-86950 (CoreGraphics out-of-bounds write, KEV due 2026-10-02), CVE-2026-65400 (macOS Screen Sharing improper authentication, KEV due 2026-08-21, CVSS 9.8 per The Hacker News), and the ANSSI advisories CERTFR-2026-AVI-1421 (Xcode before 27.2, CVE-2026-112602 and CVE-2026-112605), CERTFR-2026-AVI-1236 and CERTFR-2026-AVI-0938\. None of these describe CVE-2024-27834 and none of their versions, scores or IOCs apply here.

## 4\. Mitigation & containment

P1 (within 24h)

- Inventory every Apple device and server running iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS or watchOS 10.5 and confirm which are internet-facing or hold privileged credentials. CISA's KEV due date for this CVE is 2026-11-18; treat that as the outer deadline and prioritise internet-exposed and high-value assets ahead of it.
- Apply the vendor mitigation. CISA's required action is to apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions; the specific patched version is not named in public reporting reviewed here, so confirm the fixed release against Apple's own security advisory before closing the ticket. No fixed release is named in the material available to Adverse Trace.
- Because the flaw requires pre-existing arbitrary read and write, treat any host with evidence of memory-corruption exploitation or unexpected code execution as potentially able to leverage this bypass. Isolate such hosts pending forensic triage.

P2 (within 72h)

- Where a device cannot be patched to a fixed release, follow CISA BOD 26-04 guidance for the asset: restrict its exposure, remove it from high-value workflows, or discontinue use if mitigations are unavailable, per the KEV required action.
- Enforce the pointer-authentication-dependent hardening you already rely on (signed system binaries, hardened runtime, code signing) and verify it is active on managed macOS fleets, since this CVE undermines that layer once read/write is achieved.

P3 (within 7 days)

- Add CVE-2024-27834 to vulnerability-management reporting with its verified values (CVSS 5.5 MEDIUM, CWE-287, KEV) and track closure against the 2026-11-18 due date.
- Review endpoint telemetry for post-exploitation behaviour consistent with a pointer-auth bypass (unexpected control-flow anomalies, crashes in security-sensitive processes) and escalate anything unexplained.

## 5\. Indicators of compromise

No indicators of compromise available in the source material.

## 6\. Detection

Insufficient indicators to author detection rules.

## CVE assessment

1 referenced CVE

| CVE                                                                              | CVSS       | Exploited | EPSS | Summary                                                                                                                          |
| -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | --------- | ---- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| [CVE-2024-27834](https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834?ref=f4n6.co.uk) | 5.5 Medium | —         | 1%   | The issue was addressed with improved checks. This issue is fixed in Safari 17.5, iOS 16.7.8 and iPadOS 16.7.8, iOS 17.5 and iP… |

## 7\. Sources

- NVD, CVE-2024-27834 detail, https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834
- CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE-2024-27834 (KEV entry, due date 2026-11-18), https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834
- CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE-2026-86950, https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-86950 (separate vulnerability, not part of this item)
- CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities, CVE-2026-65400, https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-65400 (separate vulnerability, not part of this item)
- ANSSI CERT-FR, Multiples vulnérabilités dans les produits Apple, https://www.cert.cyber.gouv.fr/avis/CERTFR-2026-AVI-1421/ (separate vulnerabilities, not part of this item)
- ANSSI CERT-FR, Vulnérabilité dans les produits Apple, https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/avis/CERTFR-2026-AVI-1236/ (separate vulnerability, not part of this item)
- ANSSI CERT-FR, Multiples vulnérabilités dans les produits Apple, https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/avis/CERTFR-2026-AVI-0938/ (separate vulnerabilities, not part of this item)
- The Hacker News, Critical macOS, SharePoint, vCenter, and Microsoft IKE Flaws Under Active Exploitation, https://thehackernews.com/2026/08/critical-macos-sharepoint-vcenter-and.html (separate vulnerability, not part of this item)

## 8\. Adverse Trace position

Adverse Trace assesses CVE-2024-27834 as CVSS 5.5 MEDIUM per NVD, with CISA KEV status confirming in-the-wild exploitation and a remediation due date of 2026-11-18\. The score is moderate but the KEV listing and the pointer-authentication bypass raise the priority for any EMEA financial services firm running affected Apple versions on internet-exposed or privileged assets; the precondition of existing arbitrary read and write lowers the chance of standalone remote compromise but raises the value of the flaw to an attacker who already has a foothold. No actor attribution, no fixed version and no IOCs are available in public reporting, so we will not name any. We will track Apple's security advisory for the fixed release and update this note when a patched version is confirmed, and we will re-check KEV and EPSS status for CVE-2024-27834 as the 2026-11-18 deadline approaches.

---

[Read the original source →](https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834?ref=f4n6.co.uk)

*Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.*