> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://f4n6.co.uk/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# CISA adds patched Apple auth flaw CVE-2024-27834 to KEV
- URL: https://f4n6.co.uk/security-feed/cisa-adds-patched-apple-auth-flaw-cve-2024-27834-to-kev/
- Published: 2026-11-05T09:36:10.000Z
- Updated: 2026-11-05T09:36:10.000Z
- Author: Jeff Davies
- Tags: #security-feed, CVE-2024-27834

## 1\. Executive summary

CISA added CVE-2024-27834, an improper authentication flaw in multiple Apple operating systems, to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-11-04, following reports of active exploitation. The flaw carries a CVSS score of 5.5 (MEDIUM) and is recorded as CWE-287 (Improper Authentication); CISA's remediation due date for federal civilian agencies is 2026-11-18\. The Hacker News reports the flaw is being used to deliver information-stealing malware, though the primary item's text as supplied is truncated and does not name the malware, the delivery mechanism or the victims. For EMEA financial services the exposure is concentrated in managed macOS, iOS and iPadOS estates, where the flaw is patched but exploitation is now confirmed in the wild; the risk is elevated by the gap between patch availability and actual deployment across user devices.

## 2\. Regulatory framing

| Article            | Trigger (the fact in this item)                                                                                         | Practical impact                                                                                                                                                                   |
| ------------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| DORA Art. 17       | CVE-2024-27834 is confirmed exploited in the wild (CISA KEV) against Apple operating systems used across client estates | The ICT-related incident management process must be able to detect and respond to exploitation of a patched-but-unapplied flaw on endpoint devices, not only server infrastructure |
| DORA Art. 28       | The affected component is third-party vendor software (Apple operating systems) with a vendor-supplied fix              | Third-party risk management must confirm the vendor fix is applied across the estate and that patch-deployment obligations with ICT providers are met                              |
| NIS2 Art. 21(2)(d) | Exploitation targets a vendor product in the supply chain, and the fix depends on the client's own deployment           | Supply chain security measures must cover the client's own patch-deployment process for vendor operating-system components                                                         |

## 3\. Technical analysis & attack chain

CVE-2024-27834 is an improper authentication vulnerability (CWE-287) affecting Apple iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS and watchOS 10.5\. Per the NVD entry, the flaw could allow an attacker with arbitrary read and write capability to bypass pointer authentication. Pointer authentication is a hardware-backed control on Apple silicon and recent ARM devices that signs pointers so that corrupted or attacker-controlled pointers fail validation; bypassing it removes a mitigation that would otherwise frustrate exploitation of memory-corruption bugs. The flaw therefore functions as a defence-evasion primitive rather than a standalone remote entry point.

The confirmed attack chain, as far as public reporting supports it:

1. CISA added CVE-2024-27834 to the KEV catalog on 2026-11-04, citing reports of active exploitation.
2. The Hacker News reports the flaw is exploited to deliver information-stealing malware.

The primary item's text as supplied is truncated at "could allow an attacker with", and the remainder of the article (the specific malware family, the delivery vector, the targeted versions, any victim sector or geography) is not present. The following are not stated in public reporting available here: the initial access vector, the specific malware delivered, its capabilities, persistence mechanism, command-and-control infrastructure, lateral movement, data access or exfiltration, and the identity or sector of any victim. The claim that the flaw is used to deliver information-stealing malware rests on The Hacker News alone and is single-sourced; treat it as reported but unconfirmed by a second source.

The flaw is described as patched. Apple shipped fixes for the affected operating systems before the KEV addition; the specific patched version numbers are not stated in the supplied material and should be taken from Apple's own security advisories. The exploitation reported here is against unpatched devices, which is the normal pattern for a KEV-listed flaw with an available fix.

No actor is named in any source. No MITRE ATT&CK profile is associated with this item, so no attribution is made and none should be inferred.

## 4\. Mitigation & containment

P1 (within 24h):

- Inventory every Apple device in the estate running iOS, iPadOS, macOS, Safari, tvOS or watchOS at version 10.5 or earlier and confirm which have received the vendor fix for CVE-2024-27834\. The specific fixed version numbers are not stated in the supplied material; obtain them from Apple's security advisories for the affected products.
- For devices that cannot be patched immediately, restrict them from handling email attachments, web browsing to untrusted sites and installation of profiles or apps from outside the managed catalog, since the flaw is a pointer-authentication bypass that is useful to an attacker only after some other primitive has been achieved.
- Push the vendor fix to all managed macOS, iOS and iPadOS devices through the MDM channel and verify compliance, not just deployment.

P2 (within 72h):

- Confirm that Safari and the embedded WebKit components on macOS and iOS are at the fixed version; the flaw affects Safari as a named product, so browser-only patching is insufficient if the OS is not also updated.
- Review endpoint telemetry for signs of information-stealing malware on Apple devices: unexpected outbound connections from user processes, access to browser credential stores and keychain items, and unusual process execution from user-writable directories. The specific malware family is not named in public reporting available here, so detection must be behavioural rather than signature-based on a named family.

P3 (within 7 days):

- Add CVE-2024-27834 to the vulnerability-management register with the CISA due date of 2026-11-18 as the internal remediation target for internet-exposed and high-value devices.
- Confirm that the patch-deployment obligation is reflected in contracts with any ICT third party that manages Apple endpoints on the client's behalf.

No fixed release identifier, patch number or KB is named in the supplied sources beyond the statement that the flaw is patched; do not assume a version number.

## 5\. Indicators of compromise

No indicators of compromise available in the source material. The sources name no hashes, domains, IP addresses, file paths or command lines associated with exploitation of CVE-2024-27834\. The claim that information-stealing malware is delivered is not accompanied by any atomic indicator in the supplied material.

Behavioural indicators, where the sources support observation:

| behaviour                                                        | where to observe                                                                                                     | confidence                                                                                   |
| ---------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Exploitation of a pointer-authentication bypass on Apple devices | Endpoint telemetry for crashes or anomalous control-flow in processes handling untrusted input; EDR on macOS and iOS | Low; the sources confirm exploitation but give no observable behaviour specific to this flaw |
| Delivery of information-stealing malware to Apple devices        | Outbound network telemetry from user processes; access to credential stores                                          | Low; single-sourced to The Hacker News, no family named                                      |

## 6\. Detection

Insufficient indicators to author detection rules. The sources provide no distinctive strings, command-line flags, mutex names, file paths, registry keys or hard-coded values associated with exploitation of CVE-2024-27834 or with the information-stealing malware reportedly delivered. A rule built on the CVE identifier or product names would detect reporting about the flaw, not the flaw itself.

## CVE assessment

1 referenced CVE — **1 actively exploited (CISA KEV)**

| CVE                                                                              | CVSS       | Exploited        | EPSS | Summary                                                                                                                          |
| -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------- | ---------------- | ---- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| [CVE-2024-27834](https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834?ref=f4n6.co.uk) | 5.5 Medium | ⚠ KEV 2026-11-04 | 1%   | The issue was addressed with improved checks. This issue is fixed in Safari 17.5, iOS 16.7.8 and iPadOS 16.7.8, iOS 17.5 and iP… |

## 7\. Sources

- The Hacker News, "Hackers Exploit Patched Apple Flaw to Deliver Info-Stealing Malware, CISA Says", https://thehackernews.com/2026/11/hackers-exploit-patched-apple-flaw-to.html, 2026-11-05
- NVD / CISA KEV, "CVE-2024-27834 Apple Multiple Products Improper Authentication Vulnerability", https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-27834

## 8\. Adverse Trace position

Adverse Trace assesses CVE-2024-27834 as MEDIUM severity (CVSS 5.5) and confirmed exploited in the wild per CISA KEV, with a federal remediation due date of 2026-11-18\. The client impact for EMEA financial services is moderate: the flaw is patched, so exposure is limited to devices where the vendor fix has not been deployed, and the reported use to deliver information-stealing malware is single-sourced to The Hacker News and not corroborated by a second source in the material available to us. No actor is named and no attribution is made. We will monitor for a second source confirming the malware family and delivery vector, and for any Apple advisory naming the fixed versions, and will update this note if either appears. Clients should treat the 2026-11-18 date as the internal target for patching Apple endpoints and verify MDM compliance rather than deployment counts.

---

[Read the original source →](https://thehackernews.com/2026/11/hackers-exploit-patched-apple-flaw-to.html?ref=f4n6.co.uk)

*Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.*