~/f4n6 $ grep -r "Ransomware: everest named B-accountants (NL)" ./investigations/ --include="*.md"

Ransomware: everest named B-accountants (NL)

Jeff Davies 07 Oct 2026 5 min read

1. Executive summary

On 2026-10-06 the ransomware group "everest" listed a Dutch victim, "B-accountants", on its leak site, as indexed by Ransomware.live. The listing carries no victim website, no registration details, and no leak screenshot, so the victim's identity, size, and the nature of any data held cannot be confirmed from the source. The same index shows a second everest victim, "CCA Bank", with no country recorded, which places a financial-sector entity in the same group's recent postings. No CVE, no exploitation state, and no MITRE ATT&CK profile for everest are present in the verified reference data, so the intrusion method is unknown and the attribution rests on the leak-site claim alone. For EMEA financial services clients the exposure is indirect: a compromised accounting firm in the supply chain can expose client financial records, and the group's targeting of a bank indicates appetite for the sector.

2. Regulatory framing

Article Trigger (the fact in this item) Practical impact
DORA Art. 28: ICT third-party risk, general principles The named victim is an accounting firm, a category of ICT or professional-services provider that sits in the supply chain of financial entities. Where a client contracts accounting, bookkeeping, or tax services from a firm of this type, the incident is a third-party ICT risk event and the client must assess its own exposure through that relationship.
NIS2 Art. 21(2)(d): supply chain security measures Same trigger: the compromise is at a supplier, not at the financial entity itself. Clients in scope of NIS2 must be able to show supply chain security measures covering this class of provider, including how a supplier breach is detected and escalated.

No DORA incident-reporting article is engaged on the facts available: the source does not establish that a financial entity's own ICT systems were affected, which is the precondition for the Art. 17 to Art. 19 reporting chain. If a client confirms that its own production services were disrupted through this supplier, that assessment changes and Art. 17, Art. 18, and Art. 19 come into scope.

3. Technical analysis & attack chain

The source material does not support an attack chain. Ransomware.live indexes the leak-site posting only; it states explicitly that it does not acquire, download, or host the underlying stolen data. There is no initial access vector, no exploited component, no payload description, no persistence mechanism, no command-and-control detail, and no exfiltration evidence in any of the supplied sources.

What is confirmed:

  1. On 2026-10-06T16:17:04Z, Ransomware.live indexed a leak-site entry in which the group "everest" named a victim recorded as "B-accountants" with country NL.
  2. The entry has no victim website field and no leak screenshot.
  3. A separate indexed entry shows the same group naming "CCA Bank" as a victim, with no country recorded.

That is the full extent of the confirmed record. Everything a defender would normally act on (the intrusion vector, the encryptor, the ransom note, any exfiltration channel) is absent.

Two caveats on the victim record itself. First, the primary item's own body text states that the publisher could not confirm a company by this name, which means the victim identity is unverified even at the level of "does this entity exist under this name". Second, the "everest" actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in the verified reference data, so no TTP mapping can be asserted and the attribution to this group is unconfirmed. Treat the group name as a claim on a leak site, not as an established actor profile.

The related source describing a "Section9" listing for a Belgian victim is a different group and a different victim; it is included in the corpus but has no bearing on this item beyond confirming that Dutch and Belgian entities appear in the same index.

4. Mitigation & containment

The source gives no vendor fix, no patch, and no CVE, so the actions below are process and supplier controls rather than technical remediation of a named flaw.

P1 within 24h

  • Determine whether your organisation, or any entity in your group, holds a current engagement with an accounting, bookkeeping, or tax services provider operating in the Netherlands. If yes, contact them directly and ask whether they have been listed, whether they have received a ransom demand, and whether any data relating to your engagement is in scope. Do not rely on the leak-site entry alone; it carries no evidence.
  • If a supplier confirms compromise, treat any data they hold on your behalf as potentially exposed and begin a data-scope assessment: which files, which periods, which personal data, which account identifiers.
  • Check whether the supplier holds standing access to your systems (API credentials, shared drives, SSO federation, remote support tooling). Suspend or rotate that access until the supplier's status is established.

P2 within 72h

  • For any in-scope supplier, pull the contractual security and breach-notification clauses and confirm the notification timeline they are bound to. Where the contract is silent on breach notification, record that as a gap for renewal.
  • Review authentication logs for the supplier's accounts over the preceding 30 days for access from unexpected source addresses or at unexpected times. The source provides no indicators to match against, so this is anomaly review, not signature matching.
  • Confirm that backups covering any data shared with the supplier are isolated from the supplier's access path.

P3 within 7 days

  • Add this supplier category to the third-party register with a risk rating, and set a review date.
  • Where the supplier has no documented incident-response contact, obtain one and record it.
  • Re-test the assumption that a supplier breach would be detected by your own monitoring. If detection depends on the supplier telling you, that is the control gap to close.

5. Indicators of compromise

No indicators of compromise available in the source material. The supplied sources contain no hashes, domains, IP addresses, file paths, registry keys, or ransom-note text. The only observable is the leak-site listing itself, which is a publication event, not a technical artefact.

Behavioural indicators:

behaviour where to observe confidence
A supplier of accounting or bookkeeping services appears on a ransomware leak site Ransomware.live and equivalent leak-site indexes; supplier's own breach notification Confirmed for the listing; unconfirmed for the underlying compromise
Supplier account authenticates to your systems from an unexpected source or at an unexpected time Identity provider logs, VPN logs, remote support tooling logs Low; no baseline provided in the source, anomaly review only

6. Detection

Insufficient indicators to author detection rules. The sources contain no distinctive strings, command-line flags, mutex names, scheduled-task or service names, file names or paths, registry keys, ransom-note text, or hard-coded values. The only strings present are the group name, the victim name, and the country code, none of which are artefacts of the threat itself; a rule built on them would match reporting about the incident rather than the incident.

7. Sources

  • Ransomware.live, "Ransomware: everest named B-accountants (NL)", https://www.ransomware.live/id/Qi1hY2NvdW50YW50c0BldmVyZXN0, published 2026-10-06.
  • Ransomware.live, "Ransomware: everest named CCA Bank", https://www.ransomware.live/id/Q0NBIEJhbmtAZXZlcmVzdA==, date not stated in source.
  • Ransomware.live, "Ransomware: Section9 named ****.com (BE)", https://www.ransomware.live/id/KioqKi5jb21AU2VjdGlvbjk=, date not stated in source.

8. Adverse Trace position

We assess this as a low-confidence, single-sourced item. The only verified fact is that a leak-site listing exists; the victim's identity is unconfirmed even by the publisher, the intrusion method is unknown, and the "everest" actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in our reference data, so we do not attribute this to a characterised threat group. We are not raising a sector-wide alert on this listing alone. The reason it is worth a client's time is the second everest entry naming a bank, which indicates the group is posting financial-sector victims, and the fact that accounting firms hold exactly the records that make them a useful pivot into their clients. We will monitor for a corroborating report from the victim, a national authority, or a second index, and we will reissue this advisory with a technical section if an intrusion vector or indicator set becomes available. Clients with Dutch accounting suppliers should complete the P1 supplier contact step regardless of how thin this listing is, because the cost of the check is low and the cost of assuming a supplier is fine is not.


Read the original source →

Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.

Post this to LinkedIn
Formatting is converted automatically — headings, bullets, a link back & hashtags. Paste straight in.
J
Jeff Davies