1. Executive summary
On 20 August 2026, Ransomware.live recorded a claim naming Capgemini Engineering, France, as an Everest victim. The claim is single-sourced: the supplied material contains no independent confirmation, technical evidence or Capgemini statement, and attribution to Everest is unconfirmed because the actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in the verified reference data. No CVE is identified; consequently, no CVSS score, severity or CISA KEV exploitation state applies. EMEA financial-services clients should treat this as a potential third-party exposure affecting Capgemini-managed access, credentials, integrations or shared data, but current client impact is undetermined.
2. Regulatory framing
No specific DORA/NIS2 article is directly engaged by this item. The supplied evidence does not establish a client relationship, client impact, material service disruption or reportable incident; clients should reassess applicable obligations if Capgemini confirms that their systems, data or services were affected.
3. Technical analysis & attack chain
The only confirmed sequence is publication of a victim claim, not an intrusion chain:
- At
2026-08-20 02:53:03 UTC, Ransomware.live published an entry namingCapgemini Engineeringas the victim,everestas the group,FRas the country andcapgemini.comas the victim website. The platform states that it indexes publicly visible operator claims and open-source material without accessing underlying stolen data. Source
No subsequent attack-chain step is confirmed.
| Stage | Available evidence |
|---|---|
| Initial access | Not reported. No exposed service, credential source, phishing activity or exploitation method is identified. |
| Vulnerability exploitation | No CVE, product, component or affected version is identified. CVSS and CISA KEV status are therefore not applicable. |
| Payload execution | No ransomware binary, loader, script, command line, filename or hash is supplied. |
| Persistence or privilege escalation | Not reported. |
| Command-and-control | No protocol, domain, IP address, URL or communication channel is supplied. |
| Lateral movement | Not reported. |
| Credential or data access | Not demonstrated. The page contains contextual exposure counts, but no supporting records tie them to this claim. |
| Exfiltration or encryption | Neither is confirmed. No stolen-data sample, ransom note, encryption evidence, demand or deadline is supplied. |
| Observed impact | No outage, recovery activity, affected system, data loss or business impact is reported. |
The page’s sponsored Hudson Rock panel reports the following contextual metrics:
Compromised Employees: 2082Compromised Users: 8672Third Party Employee Credentials: 2720External Attack Surface: 200
The supplied page does not define the metrics’ collection period, methodology, overlap or relationship to the Everest claim. They must not be interpreted as confirmed affected accounts, stolen Capgemini credentials, compromised assets or evidence of initial access. Although the page includes headings for DNS records and a leak screenshot, the supplied extraction contains no DNS values or screenshot content.
Attribution to Everest remains unconfirmed. The actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in the verified reference data, and the primary item and external-1 are the same Ransomware.live page rather than independent corroboration. The claim is therefore single-sourced; verify before enforcement.
4. Mitigation & containment
P1 — within 24 hours
- Determine whether Capgemini Engineering has access to client systems or data. Use authoritative supplier and account-sponsor records to identify:
- Named and shared user accounts.
- Privileged-access-management entries.
- VPN, ZTNA, federation and remote-support access.
- Service accounts, API keys, certificates and integration secrets.
- Managed endpoints, repositories, file exchanges and cloud tenants.
- Data or workloads hosted, administered or developed by Capgemini.
- Contact the established Capgemini security or incident channel and request written confirmation or denial, earliest known activity, affected identities and systems, client-data exposure, encryption status and validated IOCs.
- Disable dormant, expired and unowned Capgemini-associated accounts. For active privileged access, revoke current sessions and temporarily suspend non-essential interactive access or require owner revalidation and strong MFA.
- Pause unscheduled privileged maintenance and bulk file transfers associated with the supplier pending validation. Preserve identity, VPN/ZTNA, PAM, endpoint, cloud-audit, proxy, DNS and file-transfer logs.
- Do not block
capgemini.com: it is identified as the victim website, not malicious infrastructure.
P2 — within 72 hours
- Where supplier access exists, rotate client-controlled passwords, API keys, integration secrets and certificates disclosed to or administered by supplier personnel. Revoke existing tokens and reissue only after validating the account owner and business need.
- Remove standing administrative rights. Restrict supplier access to named systems, approved paths and defined maintenance windows.
- Hunt across the maximum available log-retention period because the publication time is not the compromise start time. Review supplier-associated accounts for:
- New device registration or MFA reset.
- Authentication from unexpected locations or infrastructure.
- Session creation outside approved support windows.
- Privilege changes or access to previously unused systems.
- Unusual repository, file-share or cloud-storage access.
- Large or atypical outbound transfers.
- No patch or version pin can be specified: the source identifies no exploited component, CVE, affected version or vendor fix.
P3 — within seven days
- Obtain a supplier incident report covering scope, timeline, affected credentials, client data, connected third parties, exfiltration or encryption status, containment and eradication evidence.
- Reassess the supplier’s residual access and replace persistent shared secrets where exposure cannot be excluded.
- Test the client’s supplier-access termination procedure, including session revocation, credential rotation and integration isolation.
- If no supplier relationship or technical exposure exists, document that determination and retain the claim for monitoring rather than imposing broad controls.
5. Indicators of compromise
No indicators of compromise available in the source material.
The underlying claim and exposure metrics are single-sourced; verify before enforcement.
6. Detection
Insufficient indicators to author detection rules.
7. Sources
- Ransomware.live, “Victim: Capgemini Engineering – everest,” https://www.ransomware.live/id/Q2FwZ2VtaW5pIEVuZ2luZWVyaW5nQGV2ZXJlc3Q=, 20 August 2026.
8. Adverse Trace position
Adverse Trace assesses this as an unverified third-party compromise claim with undetermined impact, not a confirmed ransomware deployment. No incident severity can be established from the supplied evidence; no CVE, CVSS severity or CISA KEV state applies. Attribution to Everest is unconfirmed because the actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile, and the claim is single-sourced; verify before enforcement. Immediate client effort should focus on identifying and constraining Capgemini-associated access rather than broad blocking or unsupported malware hunting. Adverse Trace will monitor for independent confirmation, affected-service details and validated IOCs and will update this advisory if actionable evidence emerges.
Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.