Advisory AT-2026-09-24-1053: Ransomware: ImNotAVillain named Italy (IT)
1. Executive summary
On 2026-09-24 the leak-site index ransomware.live recorded a post by a group calling itself ImNotAVillain naming "Italy" as a victim, claiming 85,000+ files totalling 150GB taken from "top departments, units, offices". Nothing in the available material corroborates the claim: there is no victim statement, no sample, no CVE, no CVSS score, no CISA KEV entry, and no MITRE ATT&CK profile for the actor, so the attribution and the volume figures are unconfirmed. The post is a data-theft and extortion claim, not evidence of encryption; the source does not state that a ransomware payload was deployed or that a ransom was demanded. For EMEA financial services clients the direct exposure is narrow, limited to firms holding Italian public-sector data, staff records, or correspondence that could sit inside such a set. The practical risk is downstream: leaked procurement and correspondence records are usable raw material for invoice fraud, payment diversion, and credential-based intrusion against anyone named in them.
2. Regulatory framing
No specific DORA/NIS2 article is directly engaged by this item. The named victim is a sovereign state entity, not a client, and no client relationship, ICT third-party dependency, or confirmed data overlap is established by the source. The listing alone does not trigger a reporting or testing obligation for an EMEA financial services firm.
One conditional applies. If a client independently confirms that its own data, or data it processes on behalf of another party, forms part of the published set, that confirmation is the trigger, not this listing. At that point DORA Art. 17 (ICT-related incident management process), Art. 18 (classification of ICT-related incidents and cyber threats) and Art. 19 (reporting of major ICT-related incidents to competent authorities) become the operative obligations, and the classification and reporting clocks run from the client's own detection, not from the operator's post. Clients subject to UK NIS 2018 should apply their existing OES/RDSP incident duties on the same basis. No article in the supplied reference is engaged by the post itself.
3. Technical analysis & attack chain
No confirmed attack chain can be reconstructed. The only available source is the ransomware.live index entry, which reproduces the operator's own post and nothing else. There is no incident report, no forensic timeline, no malware sample, no exploited component, and no telemetry from any party.
What the post asserts, in the order the operator presents it:
- The actor claims to have accessed systems belonging to "Italy" and to have taken 85,000+ files totalling 150GB.
- The actor claims the affected material spans "top departments, units, offices".
- The actor frames publication as a response to Italy "failing to follow proper data protection laws".
None of the three is corroborated. The file count and the 150GB figure are the operator's own numbers, and operators routinely inflate both. The claim of "top departments" is a pressure tactic aimed at the victim's disclosure deadline; it carries no technical content.
Every technical field a defender would normally work from is absent. The source gives no initial access vector, no exploited vulnerability or CVE, no product or version, no malware family or filename, no persistence mechanism, no privilege escalation path, no command-and-control infrastructure, no lateral movement detail, and no exfiltration channel or staging location. There is nothing to write a detection signature against and nothing to map to ATT&CK.
The extortion model is data theft and threatened disclosure. The source does not state that files were encrypted, that a ransom was demanded, or that a ransomware binary was executed. The "Ransomware:" prefix in the item title is ransomware.live's own site taxonomy for the listing category, not a finding about this incident. Treating this as confirmed encryption would overstate what is known.
Confidence caveat: this entire section rests on a single source, the ransomware.live index entry, which by its own published disclaimer does not acquire, host, or verify the underlying data and indexes only publicly visible operator posts. Single-sourced; verify before acting on any figure or claim here.
4. Mitigation & containment
There is no vendor fix, patch, or version pin for this item. The actions below address exposure to the claimed data set and the fraud that follows from it.
P1, within 24 hours
- Establish whether your organisation plausibly holds records inside an Italian public-sector data set: procurement and tender files, contract correspondence, shared staff or customer records, or material exchanged with Italian ministries and agencies. If yes, treat those records as exposed and stop relying on their confidentiality.
- Rotate credentials for any account, human or service, that has been used against Italian public-sector portals or that appears in correspondence with those bodies. Then check authentication logs for sign-ins from unfamiliar ASNs or geographies against those accounts.
- Brief finance, accounts payable, and procurement on payment-diversion and invoice-fraud attempts that cite Italian public-sector contracts or reference real named officials. Leaked correspondence is what makes those attempts convincing.
- Do not attempt to obtain the leaked set. ransomware.live states it does not host the data, and acquiring it would create legal and regulatory exposure for your firm independent of the original breach.
P2, within 72 hours
- Add the actor name and this victim claim to your threat-intel watchlist and monitor the listing for the file manifest to be published. The manifest is the point at which the claim becomes assessable; until then there is nothing to match against.
- If you have an Italian public-sector counterparty, outsourced function, or shared-service arrangement, ask them directly whether they are the named victim and whether your data is in scope. Use the security and incident-notification clauses in the existing contract rather than waiting for a public statement.
- Search your email and file estate for the specific document types an Italian ministry set would contain, and flag any that also exist in your own repositories, so that a later disclosure can be scoped quickly.
P3, within 7 days
- Update the third-party register to record which Italian public bodies and agencies hold or receive your data, and under what contractual terms, so that a future claim of this kind can be scoped in hours rather than days.
- Review whether your data-loss prevention and egress monitoring would detect bulk collection of the same record types from your own estate. The claim here is a bulk-theft claim; the control that matters is outbound volume and archive creation, not inbound exploitation.
5. Indicators of compromise
No indicators of compromise available in the source material.
The source contains no hashes, domains, IP addresses, file paths, registry keys, mutexes, or email addresses. The only pivotable artefact is the ransomware.live listing URL itself, which identifies the claim and not the threat, and is therefore not an indicator. No behavioural indicators are available either: the source describes no authentication pattern, device registration, process activity, or network traffic, only an unverified claim of volume.
6. Detection
Insufficient indicators to author detection rules.
7. Sources
- ransomware.live, "Victim: Italy – ImNotAVillain", https://www.ransomware.live/id/SXRhbHlASW1Ob3RBVmlsbGFpbg==, published 2026-09-24. This is the primary item and the only substantive source; the related source supplied with this item is the same URL and adds no independent detail.
8. Adverse Trace position
We assess this as an unverified extortion claim with no confirmed technical content and no measurable severity: there is no CVSS score, no CISA KEV entry, and no MITRE ATT&CK profile for ImNotAVillain, so the actor's capability and the truth of the 150GB claim cannot be graded. Attribution is unconfirmed and we do not treat the group name as established. Client impact for EMEA financial services is low for most firms and moderate for any firm holding Italian public-sector records, staff data, or correspondence that could sit in the set; the exposure is fraud and social engineering downstream of disclosure, not intrusion into client environments. We will monitor the listing for the file manifest and for any victim identity that resolves to a financial entity or to a named client, and we will issue a follow-up if the manifest is published or if the actor's tooling becomes observable. Clients who believe their data may be in scope should contact their Adverse Trace handler so we can scope it against the manifest when it appears.
Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.