1. Executive summary
A ransomware group tracked as "kairos" listed Le Centre National de l'Expertise Hospitalière (CNEH), a French health-sector training and advisory body founded in 1974, on its public leak site on 2026-09-30. The listing is indexed by ransomware.live, which records only publicly visible operator posts and does not access or host the underlying data. No CVE, exploited component, malware sample, or indicator set accompanies this item, and the VERIFIED REFERENCE DATA holds no MITRE ATT&CK profile for "kairos", so the attribution and the intrusion mechanics are unconfirmed. For EMEA financial services the direct exposure is low, but CNEH sits in the health-education supply chain and any downstream data-sharing relationship with a regulated firm should be checked. Treat this as a supply-chain and third-party notification item, not a technical emergency.
2. Regulatory framing
| Article | Trigger (the fact in this item) | Practical impact |
|---|---|---|
| DORA Art. 28: ICT third-party risk, general principles | CNEH is a French health-sector body; if a financial entity contracts it for training, expertise, or data services, the incident is a third-party ICT event | Confirm whether CNEH appears in your ICT third-party register and whether a contractual notification route exists |
| NIS2 Art. 21(2)(d): supply chain security measures | The victim is an external supplier in the health/education sector, not the reporting entity itself | If you are an in-scope entity with CNEH in your supply chain, assess the incident against your supply-chain security measures |
No DORA incident-reporting article is engaged on the facts available: there is no evidence that a financial entity's own ICT systems were affected, and no confirmed data flow to a regulated firm is described. The two rows above apply only where a client actually contracts CNEH.
3. Technical analysis & attack chain
The source material does not describe an attack chain. What is confirmed is a single event: on 2026-09-30, the "kairos" group posted CNEH to its leak site, and ransomware.live indexed that post. The listing gives the group name, the victim name, the country (FR), and a one-paragraph description of CNEH as a French health-sector training organisation founded in 1974. It does not state an initial access vector, an exploited vulnerability, a payload, a persistence mechanism, a command-and-control channel, or a data-theft volume.
Because no mechanism is described, no numbered chain can be written without inventing one. The following are the only defensible statements:
- A leak-site post naming CNEH appeared under the "kairos" handle on 2026-09-30.
- ransomware.live indexed the post. Its own disclaimer states it does not acquire, download, host, or redistribute the underlying stolen data, and that it indexes only publicly visible operator posts and open web sources.
- CNEH is described as a French health-sector training and expertise body founded in 1974.
Unconfirmed and single-sourced: the entire item rests on one source, the ransomware.live index entry. There is no second source, no victim statement, no sample, and no technical write-up. The VERIFIED REFERENCE DATA contains no MITRE ATT&CK profile for "kairos", so the group's tradecraft, tooling, and any link to known ransomware families cannot be assessed. Do not treat the "kairos" label as a confirmed actor identity; it is an operator-chosen handle on a leak site. Whether any data was actually exfiltrated, and whether CNEH's systems were encrypted, is not stated in the source and should not be assumed.
4. Mitigation & containment
P1 within 24h
- Search your ICT third-party register and procurement records for any contract, data-processing agreement, or active engagement with CNEH. If one exists, treat it as a potentially affected supplier and open a third-party incident record.
- If you share data with CNEH, identify what categories of data flow to it (training records, staff data, health-sector client data) and whether any of it is personal data or regulated financial data.
- Do not act on the leak-site post as proof of exfiltration. Ask CNEH directly, in writing, whether systems were affected and whether data left the environment.
P2 within 72h
- Where a CNEH contract exists, invoke the security-incident notification clause and request a written status: scope, affected systems, data categories, and whether law enforcement has been engaged.
- Review any credentials, API keys, or shared access tokens issued to CNEH personnel and rotate those not covered by a documented business need.
- Check inbound mail and file-transfer channels for any CNEH-originated content received in the weeks before 2026-09-30 and handle it as untrusted until CNEH confirms otherwise.
P3 within 7 days
- If CNEH is a material supplier, add it to the concentration-risk view under your third-party risk process and record the incident against the contract's resilience obligations.
- Re-test your supplier-notification path: confirm that a leak-site listing of a supplier would actually reach the right team, since this item arrived only via a public index.
No vendor fix, patch, or version pin applies: the source names no product, version, or vulnerability.
5. Indicators of compromise
No indicators of compromise available in the source material. The source provides no hashes, domains, IP addresses, file paths, registry keys, or email addresses. The only named entities are the group handle "kairos" and the victim organisation, neither of which is a machine-pivotable indicator.
Behavioural indicators
| behaviour | where to observe | confidence |
|---|---|---|
| Public leak-site post naming CNEH under the "kairos" handle, dated 2026-09-30 | Ransomware leak-site monitoring, ransomware.live index | Single-sourced; verify before enforcement |
6. Detection
Insufficient indicators to author detection rules. The source contains no distinctive strings, command-line flags, mutex names, scheduled-task or service names, file names, registry keys, ransom-note text, or hard-coded values. A rule built on the group name or the victim name would detect reporting about the event, not the threat itself, so none is emitted.
7. Sources
- ransomware.live, "Victim: Le Centre National de l'Expertise Hospitalière (CNEH) – kairos", https://www.ransomware.live/id/TGUgQ2VudHJlIE5hdGlvbmFsIGRlIGwnRXhwZXJ0aXNlIEhvc3BpdGFsacOocmUgKENORUgpQGthaXJvcw==, published 2026-09-30.
This is the only source. Every claim in this advisory traces to it or to the VERIFIED REFERENCE DATA.
8. Adverse Trace position
Adverse Trace assesses this as a low-severity item for EMEA financial services clients: it is a single-source leak-site listing with no technical detail, no confirmed data theft, and no MITRE ATT&CK profile for the named group, so the attribution is unconfirmed and the intrusion mechanics are unknown. The client impact is limited to third-party exposure, and only for firms that actually contract CNEH; for everyone else it is a monitoring item. We will watch for a CNEH statement, a second source, or any technical write-up that names tooling or indicators, and we will reissue if the "kairos" handle is linked to a known ransomware family or if data from this incident surfaces in financial-sector targeting. Clients with a CNEH relationship should tell us so we can track it against their third-party register.
Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.