~/f4n6 $ grep -r "Ransomware: qilin named CREDIN (PT)" ./investigations/ --include="*.md"

Ransomware: qilin named CREDIN (PT)

Jeff Davies 19 Oct 2026 4 min read

1. Executive summary

The qilin ransomware group listed CREDIN, a Portuguese entity (www.credin.pt), on its leak site on 2026-10-19. The listing is indexed by ransomware.live and carries no technical detail beyond the victim name, country and domain. The index page also records two compromised employees, one third-party employee credential and one external attack surface entry for the victim, which points to credential exposure as a plausible access path; that data is single-sourced to ransomware.live and unverified. No CVE, malware sample, hash or negotiation detail accompanies the listing, so the technical picture is thin. For EMEA financial services the relevance is sectoral and supply-chain: a named victim in Portugal with a third-party credential in scope is a reminder that qilin affiliates buy access rather than break it, and that the exposure sits with the victim's vendors as much as the victim.

2. Regulatory framing

No specific DORA/NIS2 article is directly engaged by this item.

3. Technical analysis & attack chain

The only confirmed facts are the listing itself: group qilin, victim CREDIN, country PT, website www.credin.pt, published 2026-10-19T14:51:57Z. Everything below the listing line is inference from the index metadata and must be treated as such.

  1. qilin operators or an affiliate posted CREDIN to the group's leak site on 2026-10-19. A leak-site post is a claim of intrusion and data theft; it is not evidence that encryption occurred, that data was exfiltrated, or that a ransom was paid.
  2. The ransomware.live index records two compromised employees and one third-party employee credential against the victim domain. If accurate, this is consistent with initial access obtained through stolen credentials, a common qilin affiliate route, but the index does not state how the credentials were obtained or whether they were used.
  3. The index records one external attack surface entry. This is a count of exposed services, not a named vulnerability. No CVE, product or version is given.

No attack chain beyond the listing can be confirmed from the source. The source does not state the initial access vector, the exploited component, any payload, persistence mechanism, privilege escalation path, command-and-control infrastructure, lateral movement, exfiltration volume or encryption impact. Any advisory that fills those gaps for this victim is inventing them.

Confidence caveat. The compromised-employee and third-party-credential counts come from ransomware.live's own enrichment (the page credits Hudson Rock infostealer intelligence tooling). They are single-sourced, not corroborated by the victim, and should be verified against the victim's own identity and access logs before any action is taken on them. The qilin attribution rests on the leak-site post alone. No MITRE ATT&CK profile for qilin is available in the reference data supplied with this item, so the attribution is unconfirmed at the tradecraft level: the group name is asserted by the leak site, not mapped to observed techniques here.

4. Mitigation & containment

This advisory concerns a third-party victim, not a client compromise. The steps below are for clients with a direct or supply-chain relationship to CREDIN, or who share the credential-exposure pattern the index describes.

P1 within 24h

  • Confirm whether CREDIN appears anywhere in the vendor, counterparty or third-party register. If it does, contact the relationship owner and ask for the victim's incident status in writing; do not rely on the leak-site post.
  • Search identity logs for authentication from CREDIN-associated accounts or third-party contractor accounts with CREDIN in the display name, email domain or sponsor field. Revoke sessions and reset credentials for any account whose last authentication cannot be tied to a known device.
  • If any client staff hold accounts at credin.pt or reuse a password across both estates, force a reset and check for password reuse against the client's own directory.

P2 within 72h

  • Where a third-party credential is in scope per the index, require the vendor to confirm multi-factor authentication is enforced on all remote access (VPN, RDP, webmail, SaaS) and that dormant contractor accounts are disabled.
  • Pull the last 30 days of authentication logs for any account with a CREDIN-linked sponsor and review for impossible travel, new device registrations and MFA fatigue patterns.
  • Confirm the vendor's contractual notification obligation covers this event; if the contract is silent, that gap is the finding to escalate.

P3 within 7 days

  • Add credin.pt to threat-intel watchlists and monitor for further qilin posts, data-dump releases or negotiation leaks naming the victim.
  • Review third-party onboarding to require disclosure of infostealer exposure for contractor accounts, since that is the exposure pattern the index points to.

No vendor fix, patch or version pin applies: the source names no vulnerable product.

5. Indicators of compromise

No indicators of compromise available in the source material. The listing gives a victim name, country and domain only; no hashes, IPs, URLs, filenames or ransom-note text are present.

Behavioural indicators, drawn from the index metadata (single-sourced to ransomware.live; verify before enforcement):

behaviour where to observe confidence
Compromised employee credentials associated with the victim domain (count: 2) Identity provider authentication logs, infostealer exposure feeds Low, single-sourced
Third-party employee credential associated with the victim (count: 1) Vendor/contractor account authentication, third-party access logs Low, single-sourced
External attack surface exposure on the victim domain (count: 1) External attack surface management scan of credin.pt Low, single-sourced

6. Detection

Insufficient indicators to author detection rules. The source contains no strings, filenames, command lines, registry keys, mutexes or network artefacts belonging to the threat. A rule built on the group name or victim name would detect reporting about the incident, not the incident.

7. Sources

  • ransomware.live, "Victim: CREDIN – qilin", https://www.ransomware.live/id/Q1JFRElOQHFpbGlu, published 2026-10-19.

8. Adverse Trace position

Adverse Trace assesses this as a low-detail leak-site listing with no technical corroboration: the only confirmed fact is that qilin posted CREDIN on 2026-10-19, and the credential and attack-surface counts are single-sourced to ransomware.live and unverified. Severity for EMEA financial services clients is low unless a direct or supply-chain relationship to CREDIN exists, in which case the third-party credential exposure is the item to chase. We will monitor the qilin leak site for follow-on posts, data releases or victim statements on CREDIN, and will reissue this advisory if technical indicators, a confirmed access vector or a victim confirmation emerges. Clients with a CREDIN relationship should treat the P1 vendor-contact and credential-reset steps as the immediate action.


Read the original source →

Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.

Post this to LinkedIn
Formatting is converted automatically — headings, bullets, a link back & hashtags. Paste straight in.
J
Jeff Davies