1. Executive summary
On 2026-09-13, the ransomware group self-styled "qilin" listed Gilco Scaffolding, a UK-based scaffolding contractor (www.gilcoscaffolding.com), as a victim on its public leak site. The claim is indexed by the aggregator ransomware.live and rests on a single source: the operator's own post. No technical detail accompanies the listing in the material provided — no initial-access vector, no exploited CVE, no malware artefacts, no exfiltration or encryption evidence, and no indicators of compromise. Attribution to "qilin" is unconfirmed: the actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in our verified reference data, so the group name is an operator self-designation only. No CVSS score, CISA KEV entry or EPSS value applies to this item, and we do not assign one. Direct risk to EMEA financial services clients is low and indirect: the relevance is supply-chain or downstream-counterparty exposure if a client contracts the named victim, not a demonstrated threat to client infrastructure.
2. Regulatory framing
No specific DORA/NIS2 article is directly engaged by this item.
The item contains no fact connecting the named victim to a client's ICT systems, no evidence of a client-side incident, and no third-party arrangement disclosed. The only conditional path is contractual: if a client holds a direct ICT third-party relationship with the named victim — a fact not present in this item — then DORA Art. 28 (ICT third-party risk — general principles) and NIS2 Art. 21(2)(d) (supply chain security measures) would become relevant to that client's own supplier-risk assessment. We do not assert that relationship exists. UK NIS 2018 OES/RDSP duties would apply only to an entity in scope of those regulations; nothing in this item establishes that the victim is such an entity, and the victim is not a financial services firm.
3. Technical analysis & attack chain
The source material is a leak-site index entry. It supports exactly one confirmed step and no more.
Confirmed
- On 2026-09-13T16:59:37Z, ransomware.live indexed a post attributed to the group "qilin" naming Gilco Scaffolding (country: GB, website: www.gilcoscaffolding.com) as a victim.
Not evidenced in the source material — do not assume
- Initial access vector, exploited component or CVE: not stated.
- Vulnerability mechanism: not stated.
- Payload / malware capabilities, ransomware binary, encryptor family, ransom-note text: not stated.
- Persistence, privilege escalation, lateral movement, command-and-control: not stated.
- Data access or exfiltration: the listing does not, in the material provided, evidence that data was stolen, and no sample or proof-of-leak content was retrievable. The aggregator page contains a "Leak Screenshot" section header with no accessible content in the supplied material.
- Impact: no confirmation of encryption, service disruption, or extortion outcome.
Caveats. The aggregator page includes an empty "DNS Records" section — no records were returned, so no infrastructure pivots are available. The page carries a standard legal disclaimer stating that ransomware.live indexes only publicly visible operator posts and does not access or distribute stolen content; this means the listing is a claim by the operator, not independently verified victim confirmation. The victim has not been reported as confirming the incident in any source provided. Treat the entire item as single-sourced and unverified.
4. Mitigation & containment
There is no technical containment action arising from this item — no IOCs, no exploited component, no malware to block. The actions below are the proportionate response to an unverified leak-site claim naming a possible counterparty.
P1 — within 24h
- Determine whether your organisation holds a direct contractual or material service relationship with Gilco Scaffolding (www.gilcoscaffolding.com). If yes, escalate to third-party risk and treat the supplier as potentially compromised pending confirmation.
- Do not contact the victim via the leak-site post or any operator channel. Any direct contact should follow your existing incident/supplier escalation path.
- If a relationship exists, check for any shared credentials, SSO trusts, file-transfer channels, or API integrations with the supplier and review their authentication logs for anomalous access from the supplier's side.
P2 — within 72h
- If a relationship exists, request written confirmation of incident status from the supplier through normal commercial channels, and ask whether any of your data was held in their environment.
- Review inbound email and file transfers originating from the supplier's domain for unexpected attachments or changed payment instructions — business email compromise and invoice-fraud follow-ons are common after a public victim listing, though no such activity is evidenced in this item.
P3 — within 7 days
- If no relationship exists, close the item with a note; retain the victim name for retrospective supplier screening.
- Re-screen your supplier register against the leak-site victim list on your normal cadence rather than ad hoc.
No vendor fix, patch, version pin, registry key, or configuration change is applicable — the source names no product or component.
5. Indicators of compromise
No indicators of compromise available in the source material.
The source provides no hashes, domains, IP addresses, file paths, registry keys, mutexes, or command-line artefacts. The only network-identifiable value present is the victim's own legitimate website, which is not a threat indicator and is therefore not listed. The aggregator's DNS Records section returned no records.
Behavioural indicators: none derivable. The source describes no authentication pattern, device registration, process activity, or network behaviour — only the existence of a public post.
6. Detection
Insufficient indicators to author detection rules.
7. Sources
- ransomware.live — "Victim: Gilco Scaffolding – qilin" — https://www.ransomware.live/id/R2lsY28gU2NhZmZvbGRpbmdAcWlsaW4= — published 2026-09-13T16:59:37Z (primary item; also supplied as related source external-1 — same URL, single source)
- Adverse Trace verified reference data — NVD / EPSS / CISA KEV / MITRE ATT&CK — no entry for actor "qilin"; no CVE, CVSS, KEV or EPSS record applicable to this item.
8. Adverse Trace position
This is a low-confidence, single-sourced leak-site claim with no technical substantiation. We assign no CVSS score and no severity rating because the verified reference data contains no CVE, KEV or EPSS record for this item, and we will not manufacture one from an operator's post. Attribution to "qilin" is unconfirmed — the actor has no MITRE ATT&CK profile in our reference data, so the group name reflects the operator's own branding, not an assessed identity. Client impact is assessed as low and conditional: there is no demonstrated exposure to EMEA financial services infrastructure, and the item matters only to clients with a direct relationship to the named UK scaffolding contractor, for whom it is a supplier-risk prompt rather than a technical incident. We will monitor for victim confirmation, any published data set, and any technical reporting that would allow us to move this from an unverified claim to an assessed incident; if that material appears, we will reissue with a full attack chain and indicators. Until then, treat any downstream communication referencing this listing — particularly payment-instruction changes — as a potential social-engineering attempt and verify out of band.
Published via PulseTrace — Adverse Trace threat intelligence.